The Coal House
Oxwich Bay, Gower
The Coal House was built circa 1800 to store coal for the Penrice Estate, standing on the shore of the picturesque Oxwich Bay in South Gower. Come 1945 the commercial potential of the property was identified and subsequently it was converted into a café to accomodate the growing tourism on Gower, which in 1956 became the first designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beaty in the UK . Following a decade of use as a watersports centre, the coal house fell into disrepair and stood vacant until the late 2000s.
In 2011 Davies Sutton were tasked with converting the vacant building into a restaurant, serving high quality, locally-sourced produce for visitors and holidaymakers. Given the sensitivity of the site, due consideration was given as not to detract from the AONB. This was achieved through the retention of the buildings’ industrial appearance with modern additions being clearly distinguishable from the aforementioned qualities of the building, resulting in a highly popular destination in a beautiful location.